CNN keeps count: Congress gets paid, but who's keeping their paycheck?

Thursday, October 3, 2013 - 10:59am

WASHINGTON (CNN) -- While more than 800,000 federal workers, including some congressional staffers, are being furloughed during the government shutdown, members of Congress are still getting paid, as required by law.

But some members of the House and Senate--the very bodies that failed to prevent the shutdown--are giving away their salary in solidarity.

CNN reached out to all 533 current members of Congress about their paycheck plans.

As of Thursday at 11:15 a.m., the tally showed 25 senators are donating to charity or the Treasury Department, while four are not accepting a paycheck and two are undecided.

One senator, Tom Coburn, R-Oklahoma, told CNN that he plans to keep his salary and "spend it and tithe it and give to it charities and do the things that I've always done."

In the House, 40 representatives say they're donating to charity or the Treasury, while 47 are not accepting a paycheck and one is undecided.

Four House members, however, say they're keeping their salary-- Rep. Danny Davis, D-Illinois; Rep. Todd Rokita, R-Indiana; Rep. William 'Lacy' Clay, Jr., D-Missouri; Rep. Howard Coble, R-North Carolina.

See the list, which will continue to be updated throughout the day:

Senate (donate):

Barbara Boxer, D-California

Dianne Feinstein, D-California

Mark Udall, D-Colorado

Michael Bennet, D-Colorado

Chris Coons, D-Delaware

Tom Carper, D-Delaware

Brian Schatz, D-Hawaii

Mike Crapo, R-Idaho

Joe Donnelly, D-Indiana

Mary Landrieu, D-Louisiana

Susan Collins, R-Maine

Debbie Stabenow, D-Michigan

Jeanne Shaheen, D-New Hampshire

Kelly Ayotte, R-New Hampshire

Tom Udall, D-New Mexico

Heidi Heitkamp, D-North Dakota

John Hoeven, R-North Dakota

Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio

Sheldon Whitehouse, D-Rhode Island

Bob Corker, R-Tennessee

Lindsey Graham, R-South Carolina

Bob Corker, R-Tennessee

Lamar Alexander, R- Tennessee

Orrin Hatch, R-Utah

Mike Lee, R-Utah

Michael Enzi, R-Wyoming

Senate (not accepting):

Jim Risch, R-Idaho

Chuck Schumer, D-New York

Patrick Toomey, R-Pennsylvania

Jack Reed, D-Rhode Island

Ted Cruz, R-Texas

Tim Kaine, D-Virginia

Ron Johnson, R-Wisconsin

Senate (keeping):

Tom Coburn, R-Oklahoma

Senate (undecided):

Jeff Flake, R-Arizona

Roger Wicker, R-Mississippi

House (donate):

Ron Barber, R-Arizona

John Garamendi, D-California

David Valadao, R-California

Julia Brownley, D-California

Darrell Issa, R-California

Scott Peters, D-California

Rosa L. DeLauro, D-Connecticut

Jim Himes, D-Connecticut

Elizabeth Esty, D- Connecticut

John Carney, D-Delaware

Phil Gingrey, R-Georgia

Tulsi Gabbard, D-Hawaii

Bill Foster, D-Illinois

William Enyart, D-Illinois

John A. Yarmuth, D-Kentucky

Andy Barr, R-Kentucky

Chellie Pingree, D-Maine

John Delaney, D-Maryland

Timothy J. Walz, D-Minnesota

Ann Wagner, R-Missouri

Michelle Lujan Grisham, D-New Mexico

Chris Collins, R-New York

Robert Pittenger, R-North Carolina

Steve Chabot, R-Ohio

Brad Westrup, R-Ohio

Bill Johnson, R-Ohio

David Joyce, R-Ohio

Kurt Schrader, D-Oregon

David Cicilline, D-Rhode Island

Diane Black, R-Tennessee

Bill Flores, R-Texas

Joaquin Castro, D-Texas

Robert J. Wittman, R-Virginia

Scott Rigell, R-Virginia

Suzan DelBene, D-Washington

Jaime Herrera Beutler, R-Washington

Derek Kilmer, D- Washington

Shelley Moore Capito, R-West Virginia

Paul Ryan, R-Wisconsin

Reid Ribble, R-Wisconsin

House (keeping):

Danny K. Davis, D-Illinois

Todd Rokita, R-Indiana

William "Lacy" Clay Jr., D-Missouri

Howard Coble, R-North Carolina

House (not accepting):

Mike Rogers, R-Alabama

Don Young, R-Alaska

Ami Bera, D-California

Eric Swalwell, D-California

Jim Costa, D-California

Ed Royce, R-California

Steve Southerland, R-Florida

Ron DeSantis, R-Florida

Gus Bilrakis, R-Florida

Trey Radel, R-Florida

Jack Kingston, R-Georgia

Austin Scott, R-Georgia

Paul Broun, R-Georgia

John Barrow, D-Georgia

David Scott, D- Georgia

Tom Graves, R-Georgia

Raul Labrador, R-Idaho

Mike Simpson, R-Idaho

Brad Schneider, D-Illinois

Randy Hultgren, R-Illinois

Cheri Bustos, D-Illinois

Marlin Stutzman, R-Indiana

Lynn Jenkins, R-Kansas

Gregg Harper, R-Mississippi

Jason Smith, R-Missouri

Steve Daines, R-Montana

Frank LoBiondo, R-New Jersey

Tom Reed, R-New York

Virginia Foxx, R-North Carolina

Mark Meadows, R-North Carolina

Jim Bridenstine, R-Oklahoma

Mike Kelly, R-Pennsylvania

Keith Rothfus, R-Pennsylvania

Allyson Schwartz, D-Pennsylvania

Ralph M. Hall, R-Texas

Randy Weber, R-Texas

Beto O'Rourke, D-Texas

Randy Neugebauer, R-Texas

Lamar Smith, R-Texas

Blake Farenthold, R-Texas

Jason Chaffetz, R-Utah

Jim Matheson, D-Utah

Randy Forbes, R-Virginia

Bob Goodlatte, R-Virginia

Eric Cantor, R-Virginia

Doc Hastings, R-Washington

Ron Kind, D-Wisconsin

House (undecided):

John Campbell, R-California

™ & © 2013 Cable News Network, Inc., a Time Warner Company. All rights reserved.


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment