Manziel picks up Davey O'Brien Player of the Week award, Oregon's Mariota named honorable mention

MGN-Online/Dallas News
Monday, September 16, 2013 - 1:21pm

Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel has been named the Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week after a record-setting performance against Southeastern Conference foe Alabama.

In a devastating 49-42 loss at Kyle Field, Manziel put up a valiant effort, throwing for a school-record 464 yards and five touchdowns, while amassing an additional 98 yards on the ground. The 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner was resilient as he singlehandedly dismantled the Alabama defense, but unfortunately for the Aggies it was not enough to defeat the top-ranked Crimson Tide.

"He took some chances and got away with a couple things, but I thought he also stood in there and made good throws, particularly in the red zone," said Texas A&M head coach Kevin Sumlin. "He, like a number of other players, gave us an opportunity to stay in the ball game and we just couldn't make enough plays to close it out."

Manziel will try to get the Aggies back on track next Saturday when they host the SMU Mustangs.

Honorable Mention for Week Three:

  • AJ McCarron, Alabama, SEC
  • Kenny Guiton, Ohio State, Big Ten
  • Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12
  • Brett Hundley, UCLA Pac-12

During the first nine weeks of the season, a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee will name a Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week. All 125 FBS quarterbacks are candidates for the award until semifinalists are announced on Nov. 4. Finalists will be announced Nov. 25 and the 2013 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on Dec. 12.

About the Davey O'Brien Fan Vote:

Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation's best college quarterback as often as once daily at The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2013 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 12 on ESPN and will be honored at the 37th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 16-17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®:

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away nearly $900,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment